Front wheel hub? Can I put in it in the rear?

MrJ

Good day. First post. Im running into a problem with a hub motor. Im a high school shop teacher and we decided to build the Silent speeder. So I ordered the plans, we cut up the frame, ordered the batteries, but I have run into a problem. All the Rear hub motors I see have 135mm dropouts. The rear dropout of the BMX we cut up is about 110mm. I understand those 135mm dropouts are for a gear sprocket assembly, thats why its wider. I cannot find a 110mm or so Rear Hub motor. So question....can I put a Front hub motor in the rear? and will it work ok? Plan B is to widen the rear stays to fit the 135mm distance. Maybe I would need to come up with some sort of spacer if I did have to use the 135mm hub. Not quite sure. Just wondering if anyone has had any experience with this issue. Really do not want to make a mistake when I order. Really want to complete this and let our school use it. Thanks in advance.

Hi there

Put a scissor jack in the rear of the BMX and spread them to get 135mm
or
Put some M8 rodding in there and nuts on the inside and wind them out to 135mm - if you do this wrap some brake cable around it and tether near the BB to stop the rod winding out if your axle slots point forwards
or
just lay it flat on the floor put your feet over the part on the floor and pull on the upper piece till reaching 135mm

It is just that simple !

Paul